PDA

View Full Version : I suddenly stopped going to work

Potemkin
12-05-2008, 09:57 PM
http://www.salon.com/mwt/col/tenn/2008/12/05/quit_working/index.html

Help! I suddenly stopped going to work

I've been leaving the house every day for two months and going to Starbucks or the library.

By Cary Tennis

Dear Cary,

I'm broke. I suppose you could argue that such is the case of a good many people and hardly news in the present economy. But lately, I'm a particular kind of broke. About two months ago, I just stopped going to my job. I was driving to work one day and, abruptly, turned into a drugstore and bought a magazine and then drove myself and my new magazine to a Starbucks. Since then, my days have largely been variations on that theme: I spend a lot of time at libraries and generally bring my own coffee from home because, well, I'm broke.