Go Back   This Blue Marble, a Global Current Events Discussion Forum > Health and Medicine > Medical News

Medical News News, information and discussions about health issues, medicine and biotechnology.

Old 02-26-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Glockd
5.56, faster than 911

Default CPR for the Healthcare Provider

A little background. I am (was) a First Aid/CPR/Bloodborne Pathogens Instructor (Level A, B, C, & D - CPR/Chocking and Airway Management 1 & 2 Rescuer Adult, Child & Infant, and AED - National Safety Council) and a Self-Aid/Buddy Care Instructor for the Air Force that included all of the above. I have not taught a class in quite a while, and have not had a current cert in a while either so I decided to take a half credit course at the college entitled CPR for the Healthcare Provider. Ok, Ill admit I was not looking forward to an 8 hour class on a Saturday, but I really wanted the refresher.

Here is what I learned.
1) I am a better instructor.
2) When you remind the teacher that she missed shit, (actually both of them) they develop a dislike for you
3) I still have a gift for pissing people off (worried I was losing my touch)
4) Everybody is expected to carry EMT shears and remove clothing everytime they begin CPR. (Ok, I do carry EMT Shears at all times) I am not removing clothing unless there is an AED available, Ill let the paramedics do that