Go Back   This Blue Marble, a Global Current Events Discussion Forum > Main Floor > Science Center > Space

Space The Final Frontier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2016, 10:00 AM   #1
A.T. Hagan
Your "Crazy Town" reporter
 
A.T. Hagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North/Central Florida
Posts: 12,920
Thanks: 2,942
Thanked 7,224 Times in 3,067 Posts
Default Schiaparelli prepares for touchdown: Probe will have just one chance to be captured by Mars' gravity

Quote:
The main engine burn will be starting at 13:05 GMT (15:05 CEST) tomorrow, and will be live-streamed
Atmospheric entry is expected at 15:42 BST (10:42 ET) and landing will be at 15:48 BST (10:48 ET)
Schiaparelli will enter the atmosphere at an altitude of about 75 miles and a speed of nearly 13,000 mph
The entire entry, descent and landing sequence will be complete in less than six minutes, Esa has said
[url]http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3846912/Schiaparelli-prepares-touchdown-Probe-just-one-chance-captured-Mars-gravity.html[/quote]


Schiaparelli will enter the atmosphere at an altitude of about
75 miles (121 km) and a speed of nearly 13,000 mph
(21,000 km/h). In the three to four minutes that follow, it will
be slowed by the increasing atmospheric drag, with the front
shield of the aeroshell bearing the brunt of the heating. The
entire sequence will be complete in less than six minutes
__________________
Chance favors the prepared mind.
A.T. Hagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
captured, chance, gravity, mars, prepares, probe, schiaparelli, touchdown

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.