Go Back   This Blue Marble, a Global Current Events Discussion Forum > Health and Medicine > Alternative and Survival Medicine > Herbarium

Herbarium A place for discussing alternative medicine in all its forms.

Old 08-08-2010, 11:38 PM   #1
Ought Six
Lifetime Level 3

Arrow Yarrow root, leaves and flowers

I have had digestive issues for the last ten years or so, and they were getting worse. I have gas, problems digesting some foods, and occasional constipation. I had this general feeling that my digestive tract was not working right.

My sister is, among other things, a self-taught naturopath. She recently read about yarrow. She will not recommend anything for family, friends or clients until she had tried it herself. First she got capsules with yarrow root and leaves, and then she found a source for powdered yarrow root. It was the first thing she had tried that significantly reduced the swelling and inflammation from here severe rheumatoid arthritis.

She recommended it to me, so I got both the leaf & flower caps and the root powder. I am extremely pleased with the results. It has really helped my digestion. I feel that everything is working right in my digestive tract for the first time in quite a while. I think it is actually healing my digestive tract.

On top of that, it helps me with insomnia. When I have trouble getting to sleep I take a dose of the root powder, and it helps me get to sleep. It is very mild, and leaves no after effects the next morning other than being refreshed from sleeping well.

Yarrow is widely used in traditional herbal medicine in Europe and western Asia. Studies have shown it has potent anti-inflammatory properties. The root powder is good, as I said, for digestive issues, and as a general tonic to improve energy levels. It is also good for lowering fevers.